Printable PDF Articles of Incorporation for ACtion 22

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, that we, the undersigned, for the purpose of forming a non-profit corporation under and pursuant to the provisions of Articles 121-137, of Title 7, Colorado Revised Statutes, as amended, do hereby adopt the following Articles of


The name of this corporation shall be “Action 22 Foundation, Inc.”, a non-profit corporation for the southern Colorado counties located east of the Continental Divide. The address of the principal office of the corporation is 503 N Main Suite 310, Pueblo, CO 81003.


The name of the original registered agent is Catherine A Garcia. The address of the initial registered agent’s office is 503 N Main Suite 310, Pueblo, CO 81003. The signature of the registered agent consenting to such appointment is continued in Article IV of these Articles.


The Action 22 Foundation is organized exclusively for charitable, religious, educational, and scientific purposes, including, for such purposes, the making of distributions to organizations that qualify as exempt organizations under section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code, or corresponding section of any future federal tax code.

The objects and purpose of the organization shall be:

Section 1. To serve in a supporting relationship to Action 22, Inc., with the primary role of providing information, education and training through programs, workshops, projects and forums to the citizens in the following counties: Alamosa, Baca, Bent, Chaffee, Cheyenne, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, El Paso, Fremont, Huerfano, Kiowa, Las Animas, Mineral, Saguache, Otero, Park, Prowers, Pueblo, Rio Grande, and Teller.

Section 2. To support, encourage and provide programs and workshops to educate the Action 22 region with leadership training.

Section 3. To advance the commercial, economic, and agricultural interests of the Action 22 region through training and educational programs and projects.

Section 4. To sponsor debates, forums, and discussions to educate voters on candidates and/or issues affecting the State.


The management of said corporation shall be vested in a Board of Directors made of one representative from each of the five (5) Action 22 regions and three (3) at large members, one of whom will be the immediate past chair. In addition, the immediate Chair-elect of the Action 22 Board of Directors shall serve as a voting member of the Board. The regions are as follows:

San Luis Valley Region: Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande, Saguache
Upper Arkansas Valley Region: Chaffee, Custer, Fremont, Pueblo.
Lower Arkansas Valley Region: Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Prowers
North Front Range Region: El Paso, Park, Teller
South Front Range Region: Crowley, Huerfano, Las Animas, Otero

The names and addresses of the initial Board of Directors who shall serve during the first year of existence of this corporation and until their successors are elected and qualified as follows; and, the following are also the names and address of the incorporators:

Region Directors/Incorporators

San Luis Valley Annajo Sanchez
1919 Main Street, Alamosa, CO 81101
Upper Arkansas Valley Emily Tracy
612 N 11th Street, Canon City, CO 81212
Lower Arkansas Valley Janet Frederick
PO Box 250, Eads, CO 81036
North Front Range Marc Dettenrieder
PO Box 191, Victor, CO 80860
South Front Range Edi Sheldon
400 Main Street, Walsenburg, CO 81089
At Large Doug Moss
PO Box 207, Fowler, CO 81039
At Large


The corporation shall have no members. The voting power for defined purposes shall rest with the Board of Directors.


This corporation has no capital stock, is not formed for profit and is a corporation which does not contemplate pecuniary gain, profit or dividends to or for the directors thereof and is an organization organized and operated exclusively for the objects and purposes stated in Section 1 of Article II
hereof. No part of the net earnings, if any shall inure to the benefit of any director or individual.


1. Procedure: The Corporation may be dissolved and its affairs settled in accordance with the applicable laws of the State of Colorado provided, however, that (a) members be given sixty (60) days written notice of the meeting of the Board of Directors to consider the dissolution of the Association and that (b) a resolution of dissolution only be adopted upon receiving the affirmative vote of two-thirds of the Board of Directors.

2. Distribution of Surplus: The Corporation is not organized for profit, and no part of the net earnings or assets of the Corporation shall inure to the benefit of any private individual. In the event of liquidation or dissolution of the Corporation, the balance of all money and other property received by the Corporation from any source, after payment of all debts and obligations of the Corporation, shall be used or distributed exclusively to a non-profit organization with a similar mission as stated in Article III and determined by the Board of Directors. Upon the dissolution of the organization, assets shall be distributed for one or more exempt purposes within the meaning of section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code, or corresponding section of any future federal tax code, or shall be distributed to the federal government, or to a state or local government, for a public purpose. Any such assets not
disposed of shall be disposed of by the court of common pleas of the county in which the principal office of the organization is then located, exclusively for such purposes or to such organization or organizations, as said Court shall determine, which are organized and operated exclusively for
such purposes. The Secretary of State may send a copy of this form as completed for filing to the following address: Catherine A Garcia, 503 N Main Suite 310, Pueblo, CO 81003.